Special Response Team

Williamsport Police Special Response Team


SRT Team Commander – Captain Justin Snyder
SRT Team Leader - Agent Jeremy Brown

The Special Response Team;

The Williamsport Police Department's Special Response Team (SRT) Team is a multi-jurisdictional team which is made up of police officers from various departments within Lycoming County.  Currently the team consists of 14 Officers from the Williamsport Police Department and other area agencies, including the Tiadaghton Regional Police Dept., the South Williamsport Police Dept., the Lycoming County Sheriff's Dept. and the Lycoming Co. District Attorney's office.  The team also has four tactical paramedics employed by UPMC. 


The Special Response Team’s responsibilities include, but are not limited to, executing high risk search warrants for any police agency within the county including our Lycoming County Narcotics Enforcement Unit, serving high risk warrants that are determined to be beyond the capabilities of regular patrol officers, assisting with Hostage/Barricade situations, and Dignitary Protection details.

The SRT Team has strict firearms and physical fitness entry-level requirements. Once appointed, each member of the Team must continue to meet very strict quarterly firearms qualifications and annual physical fitness qualifications. The unit trains together twice a month and participates in various table-top and staged training scenarios.

Entry level requirements for SRT Team members include a minimum of 2 years as a police officer, passing stringent physical fitness and firearms qualification standards, and a probationary period for new appointees where they must demonstrate proficiency in tactical maneuvers.

The SRT Team is supervised by a Team Commander, Team Leader and Assistant Team Leaders. It has two Selective Marksmen, and four Tactical-Medics. Other members of the Team are assigned a variety of duties. Each member is personally committed to the Team and their profession.


                                                               Special Response Team at City Council Chambers